Taylor's Awesome Book Reviews

Check out some of my reviews of some awesome books!

Book Review: Fifty Shades of Grey

This is a requested review.  A friend asked me what I thought of this book, so I decided to share!  

fiftyshadesofgrey

Fifty Shades of Grey

E.L. James

My rating: 4/5 stars

Now, I know, I know so many people are against this book (or the entire series) and blahblahblah.  BUT – I am going to say this – I LIKE THE BOOK.  It’s not the best thing in the world, no.  However, I do not feel like getting into all the reasons why those who feel this is a horrible book.  .. What I do feel like going on about is my opinion of it.  (It is my review after all…)

Why did I like this book in a sea of people who hated it?  I didn’t take it seriously.  It was a fan fiction and I took it as such.  As a result, I could look pass the style of writing and a lot of the silly plot line twists.

All three books were given to me as a gift – which might have led me to have a more positive experience with the books.

I did get annoyed with the main character.  Granted, I hate almost all fictional women (don’t really know why) so things did not look good for the main female character from the get-go.  The ending was annoying and aggravating and I found that to be the biggest issue of the book.  That and the woman acts like she wants to be aggressive (or at least assertive) but hasn’t grown enough to learn how to do that in any scenario.  So when attractive, dominant loving Grey comes on the scene she doesn’t know what to do.

I would recommend this book for anyone who can get pass some misguided ideas of what the type of relationship would hold.  Not for anyone considered “young adult” – I think too many try to read this too young and they don’t get some of the story.  I also suggest this book to someone who knows someone else who was read it – complaining about the characters (and some unreasonable plot lines) with my to-be sister-in-law (who gave me the books) made the reading of the book that much more enjoyable.

My rating: 4/5 stars

(mostly out of spite)

Sincerely,

Taylor

Have questions, requests, etc.?  Then feel free to e-mail me at taylorreadingblog23@yahoo.com

Leave a comment »

Book Review: Wake

Wake

Wake by Lisa McMann

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

My Review From Goodreads:

The first book in a trilogy. The story follows Janie who gets sucked into people’s dreams. Her love interest has a major secret and she slowly begins to be able to help others through their dreams.

Due to the fact that the story does not consistently follow an orderly timeline, this book could be used to express the importance of keeping track of dates and time within any story.

I am not sure how useful this book would be. It might be a good example of how characters need to be developed more deeply and teach how to avoid stereotypes.

View all my reviews

*****

What I Want To Add

**MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS**

I was really disappointed with this book.  I think the issue might be with me rather than the book itself.  Maybe.  The main character gets sucked into dreams, etc., right?  Well, I can deal with that.  I know the book is fictional, so “powers” or other worldly-like things don’t bother me.  What bothered me was that the guy (the “love interest”) had this elaborate back-story / current story line that I couldn’t believe.  Having a teenager work “undercover” just seems to far fetched to me.  Maybe that stuff really does happen, maybe it doesn’t.  I don’t know and I don’t honestly care enough to put the effort forth to find out.

In addition to a side story line that I didn’t find believable, I could not get into the style.  I found that I was bored with the text itself and was just reading for the sake of reading.  If that makes sense …  I didn’t find the plot capturing.  However, I did go on to read the other two books in the series (those reviews will be posted eventually … probably).

The main reason I was so upset with the book (aside from the above) was that this was the first new Y/A series that I was starting.  Maybe I had too high of expectations.  Maybe I would enjoy the book more if I were to give it a re-read.  However, due to the library-worthy pile of books that I feel that I need to read, I doubt that Wake will get another shot.

Truly, a sad experience for this reader.

My rating: 2/5 stars

Sincerely,

Taylor

Have questions, requests, etc.?  Then feel free to message me at taylorreadingblog23@yahoo.com!

Leave a comment »