Taylor's Awesome Book Reviews

Check out some of my reviews of some awesome books!

Book Review: Divergent

on February 3, 2014

Image

So I feel very behind the times having just read this book… But I am so happy to have finally read it that I do not care!

I read the first half within one sitting.  The only reason I put the book down was because I needed sleep (I started the book late at night as well).  Anyway, I loved the first half – and it reminded me a great deal of Delirium by Lauren Oliver (which I think came out after this book… But I can’t remember and I read Delirium prior to this book… so… that’s how my comparisons work…).  So, I was happy to have those feelings back.

Around 3/4 of the way through I started getting annoyed as parts became very predictable.  (Or at least I thought they were…)  Fortunately this only lasted for a few chapters before things began to pick up again. … And then the book ended. Haha!

I have already ordered the box set of the three books in this series.  I checked the first one out from the library, but I always want the first book in a series – otherwise it makes no sense to purchase the other ones… This book is so good that I do not mind buying it after I have already read it.

I recommend this book for those in high school (or older).  There were some concepts that I was not exactly thrilled about for younger readers (but that’s usually the case with more action-packed books anymore…).

Awesome book!  Can’t wait to read the next one!


Leave a comment